Gavin Robinson confirmed as DUP leader as he announces general election move

Gavin Robinson has been ratified as the leader of the Democratic Unionist Party at the launch of their general election campaign in Lisburn, and he has outlined their strategy in the upcoming general election.
Image: Democratic Unionist Party

Gavin Robinson MP has tonight been ratified as leader of the Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) and has announced their intentions for the upcoming general election.

At the launch of their general election campaign in Lisburn, Robinson said that DUP MLAs and outgoing MPs had unanimously elected him as party leader.

In his speech, he outlined the basis of their campaign and their ‘commitments to the people of Northern Ireland’.

  1. Promoting the union.
  2. Putting you, the people first.
  3. Removing barriers within the United Kingdom.
  4. Protecting Northern Ireland against illegal immigration.
  5. Elect Members of Parliament who will deliver for their constituencies.

Then he outlined his position on two key constituencies: North Down and Fermanagh and South Tyrone.

Yesterday I met separately with Doug Beattie, Jim Allister and Alex Easton to discuss how we can best work together in the interests of the Union.

We have our different views and different attitudes on the best tactics to employ but for my part I recognise that Doug, Jim and Alex are all genuine fellow unionists who believe as passionately in the Union as I do.

The Democratic Unionist Party not only talks the talk of unionist co-operation but also has demonstrated at previous General Elections in particular that we have been prepared to sacrifice our party interest in the best interests of Northern Ireland’s cause within the Union.

In truth the DUP is the largest unionist party in North Down and Fermanagh South Tyrone having outpolled other parties in both the Assembly and local Government elections in 2022 and 2023.

– Gavin Robinson MP, DUP leader

The party will not field candidates in either North Down or Fermanagh and South Tyrone and will support Alex Easton (IND) and Diana Armstrong (UUP) in each constituency respectively.

North Down is currently held by Alliance, and Fermanagh and South Tyrone by Sinn Fein.

The full list of DUP candidates:

  • Gregory Campbell, East Londonderry
  • Sammy Wilson, East Antrim
  • Jim Shannon, Strangford
  • Ian Paisley, North Antrim
  • Gavin Robinson, East Belfast
  • Paul Girvan, South Antrim
  • Carla Lockhart, Upper Bann
  • Jonathan Buckley, Lagan Valley
  • Philip Brett, North Belfast
  • Tracey Kelly, South Belfast and Mid Down
  • Frank McCoubrey, West Belfast
  • Gary Middleton, Foyle
  • Tom Buchannan, West Tyrone
  • Keith Buchanan, Mid-Ulster
  • Diane Forsyth, South Down
  • Gareth Wilson, Newry and Armagh

You can view all candidates in the upcoming general election on our dedicated page.

Join the discussion

Other News

Scroll to Top